ASHWAGANDHA (Withania somnifera): Benefits, Uses and Virtues of Ashwagandha? Medicinal properties? Dosage? Side-effects of Ashwagandha? Origins, Composition, Expert opinions, Combination with other plants and more Information on Ashwagandha (Indian Ginseng).

Ashwagandha

Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) is one of the most powerful medicinal plants, and has been used for more than 3,000 years by one of the most oldest medicinal systems in the world: ayurvedic medicine. Its history means that the effects of the plant are very well known. The plant promotes sleep, balances the nervous system and restores the strength of the horse (Ashwagandha means “the smell of the horse”). It is considered a major plant in ayurvedic medicine and is sometimes known as Indian Ginseng, in reference to its similarities to Panax Ginseng, which also has the capacity to restore energy and vitality and has an effect on the libido.

Ashwagandha: Medicinal properties

Strength – Vitality – Power

rêve- gentle general tonic (+++) (traditional usage)
- fortifies the body considerably (+++) (traditional usage) (synergy with Ginseng)
- reinforces muscular mass (+++) (synergy with Maca and Spirulina)
- prepares the body for sporting efforts (++)
- fortifies the body: strengthens tissues, muscles, bones (+++)
- chronic fatigue, reduces feelings of tiredness (+++) (traditional usage)
- restores vitality, strength, energy (+++) (traditional usage)
- anemia (++)

 

Anti-disease – Anti-cancer – Anti-ulcer

stress – adaptogenic (+++) (Ashwagandha adapts to the needs of the organism like Ginseng or Rhodiola).
- anti-inflammatory (++)
- fortifies the organism (+++)
- stimulates the immune system (++)
- antioxidant / helps to prevent cancer: breast, lung, colon (++)
- helps to prevent tumor (might help to prevent the growth of tumors) (++)
- recovery from chronic diseases (++) (synergy with Ginseng and Goji Berry)
- anti-ulcer (++) (synergy with Turmeric)
- loss of memory, Alzheimer’s (+++) (serious studies have centered on the combined effect of Ashwagandha and Ginkgo Biloba)
- antiseptic: asthma, fever, colds, coughs, conjunctivitis… (++)
- hypothyroidism, stimulates and regulates the thyroid (+++) (not recommended in the case of hyperthyroidism)
- multiple sclerosis (+)
- rheumatism (++)

Sleep – Relaxation – Stress

rêve – promotes feelings of well-being in the medium term (+++) (synergy with Goji Berry)
- reduces the negative effects of stress, anxiety (+++) (synergy with Rhodiola)
- allows for a better response to stressful situations (+++)
- helps with falling asleep (+) (hypnotic effect in strong doses)
- soothing, relaxing (++) (sedative effects)
- promotes restorative sleep (++) (synergy with Goji Berry)
- affords the disengagement needed for new intellectual activity (++) (synergy with Rhodiola)
- migraine, loss of memory (++)
- depression, nervous exhaustion (++)
- protects the heart, high blood pressure (++)

Digestion

Digestion
- constipation (++)
- protects from stomach and intestinal ulcers (++)
- regulates the digestive system (++)
- combats diabetes (++)
- intestinal spasms (++)
- protects the liver (+)

 

Aphrodisiac

aprhodisiaque- regulates sexual functions (+++) (traditional usage)
- aphrodisiac (++)
- impotence, premature ejaculation (++)
- infertility (++)
- stimulates the libido (++)
- renews sperm, removes sperm of low quality (++)
- painful periods (+)
- menopause (+)

Ashwagandha: Origins

Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) originated in India and is used very often in ayurvedic medecine (an Indian system of medicine that is one of the oldest in the world). It has been used for more than 3,000 years, and has survived through the centuries due to its numerous virtues. Its medicinal properties are close to those of Ginseng, and it is sometimes referred to as Indian Ginseng. It is said in India that Ashwagandha gives the strength and vitality of the horse. Ayurvedic medicine in general has proven itself to be very effective; it is the first system to have discovered the benefits of Turmeric, which is today considered a very effective substance to help the body for preventing cancer (according to numerous scientific studies). Ashwagandha, meanwhile, is a very powerful ancestral plant, which has allowed it to persist through centuries of use and to become one of the best known plants in the world today.

Ashwagandha: Composition

Ashwagandha (Withania Somnifera) is rich in iron, in glycowithanolides (antioxidants), tannins, glucose, potassium nitrate, alkaloids, fatty acids and numerous other substances… Ashwagandha also contains steroidal alkaloids: somnine, somniferine, anferine… and withanolides. These alkaloids play a major role in the active ingredients of the plant. Withania Somnifera also contains flavonoids, lactones, acyl steryl glucosides. In ayurvedic medicine (Indian) it is the leaves that are most often used, but so too are the plant’s roots, which contain the greatest number of active ingredients in the plant.

Ashwagandha: Dosage

It is recommended to balance one month of treatment / one week of rest / one other month of treatment. Ashwaganda is often sold in capsules: take 3-4 capsules every day (350mg x3 of powdered extract or 250mg x3 of dry extract), preferably in the evening. In the case of infusions or decoctions, take 1-2g of dried root for one infusion. In order to extract all the active ingredients, boil the plant for 15 minutes, then leave it to infuse for 10 minutes. Do not take more than 2 cups per day of decoction. Ashwagandha also exists in dyes or in fluid extracts, but it is in the form of capsules, that the plant reveals its greatest efficiency.

Ashwagandha: Ultimate effects, benefits, virtues

The main effect of Ashwagandha is to restore strength and vigor to those lacking in dynamism and energy, such as convalescents. Ashwagandha stimulates the immune system and promotes the healthy functioning of the organism. Like adaptogenic plants (which adapt themselves to the need of the organism, such as Ginseng and Rhodiola), Ashwagandha benefits the entire body and mind, and its range of uses is very broad. It protects the body from numerous diseases, helps to prevent cancer and it also possesses aphoridisiac virtues, acting as a powerful regulator. Ashwagandha is a plant that effectively combats all forms of stress and promotes sleep and quality of sleep. It also promotes healthy metabolic functioning and protects various organs.

Ashwagandha: Side-effects, contraindications

Ashwagandha is not recommended in the case of hyperthyroidism or pregnancy and can, in high doses, provoke certain intestinal problems. In strong doses, Ashwagandha can have a hypnotic effect. While this is rare, one must always be wary of plants that are as powerful as Ashwagandha. The plant should at first be tested in small doses, then increased gradually. Ashwagandha is best taken in the evening, because in strong doses the plant can act as a sedative. It should be noted that Ashwagandha is a very well known and tested plant and that using it within the recommended doses is safe.

Ashwagandha: Opinions of experts

Ashwagandha is a major plant in ayurvedic medicine (Indinan medicine) and responds to the needs of modern life in combating stress, diseases and in restoring strength and vigour. This plant is more adapted to men but is also effective for women. According to the Indian doctors who have used it for millenia, Ashwagandha is also effective at raising the libido, help problems with erection, combat infertility and improve sexual functions.

Ashwagandha: More information

Through its combined action as anti-inflammatory, anti-tumour preventative, antioxidant and regulator of the nervous system and sleep, Ashwagandha prevents the appearance of different diseases of the body and mind. It is a strong protector, an effective shield that can be used to prevent numerous diseases and to restore normal bodily functions. Studies are under way to determine the effects of Ashwagandha on Alzheimer’s disease.

Ashwagandha: Combination with other plants

Ashwagandha can be combined with many plants, due to its numerous broad virtues. Ashwagandha is particularly effective with Rhodiola (nervous balance, concentration, endurance), but also a very good association with Ginseng, Tribulus, Maca (libido, aphrodisiac, nervous balance, vitality), and also has an excellent synergy with Griffonia simplicifolia (sleep, deep depression, stress, insomnie) and Harpagophytum (very powerful natural anti-inflammatory, tendinitis, joint pain). Ashwagandha is also good with Ginkgo Biloba (blood circulation, concentration, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease), Goji Berry (anti-ageing, fatigue, sleep), Cordyceps (sexual energy, fatigue, convalescence, sport), Echinacea, Eucalyptus and Thyme (antiseptic, antiviral, antibacterial), Cannabis (nervousness, difficult in disengaging, painful periods), Turmeric, Liquorice and Lemon Balm (digestion, ulcers, excess stomach acid).

______________________
Copyright © 2012 MR GINSENG.COM – All rights reserved.

ASHWAGANDHA : Bienfaits et Vertus de l’Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) ? Propriétés médicinales ? Posologie de l’Ashwagandha ? Effets secondaires ? Origine, Composition, Avis des experts, association avec d’autres plantes et Informations complémentaires de l’Ashwagandha.

Ashwagandha

L’Ashwagandha est une plante médicinale des plus puissantes, et est utilisée depuis plus de 3000 ans par l’une des plus ancienne médecine au monde : la médecine Ayurvédique. On connait donc très bien les effets de cette plante. La plante favorise le sommeil, équilibre efficacement le système nerveux et redonne la force du cheval (Ashwagandha veut dire l’odeur du cheval). Elle est considérée comme une plante majeur en médecine Ayurvédique, et est à juste titre appelé le Ginseng Indien, en comparaison aux propriétés du Panax Ginseng, qui a lui aussi la capacité de redonner de l’énergie, de la vitalité et d’avoir une action sur la libido.

Ashwagandha : Propriétés médicinales

Force – Vitalité – Puissance

rêve- tonique général doux (+++) (usage traditionnel)
- fortifie considérablement l’organisme (+++) (usage traditionnel) (association Ginseng)
- renforce la masse musculaire (+++) (association Maca et Spiruline)
- adapté aux efforts sportifs (++)
- reconstituant de l’organisme : fortifie les tissus, muscles, os (+++)
- fatigue chronique, diminue la sensation de fatigue (+++) (usage traditionnel)
- redonne de la vitalité, de la force, énergisant (+++) (usage traditionnel)
- anémie (++)

 

Anti-maladies – Anti-cancers – Anti-ulcères

stress – adaptogène (+++) (l’Ashwagandha s’adapte aux besoins de l’organisme comme le Ginseng ou la Rhodiola).
- anti-inflammatoire (++)
- reconstituant de l’organisme (+++)
- stimule le système immunitaire (++)
- antioxydant / participe à la prévention des cancers : sein, poumon, côlon (++)
- participe à la prévention des tumeurs (pourrait peut-être aider à diminuer la croissance des tumeurs) (++)
- convalescence de maladies chroniques (++) (association Ginseng et Goji)
- anti-ulcères (++) (association Curcuma)
- perte de mémoire, Alzheimer (+++) (études sérieuses avec le Ginkgo Biloba)
- antiseptique : asthme, fièvre, rhume, toux, conjonctivite… (++)
- hypothyroïdie, stimuler et régulariser la thyroîde (+++) (déconseillée en cas d’hyperthyroïdie)
- sclérose en plaques (+)
- rhumatismes (++)

Sommeil – Détente – Stress

rêve – sensation de bien-être sur le moyen terme (+++) (association Goji)
- diminue les méfaits du stress, anxiété (+++) (association Rhodiola)
- permet une meilleure réponse de l’organisme face aux situations stressantes (+++)
- somnifère (+) (effet hypnotique à forte dose)
- apaisement, relaxation, détente (++) (effets sédatifs)
- favorise un sommeil réparateur (++) (association Goji)
- permet le détachement nécessaire à une nouvelle activité intellectuelle (++) (association Rhodiola)
- migraine, perte de mémoire (++)
- dépression, épuisement nerveux (++)
- cardio protecteur, hypertension (++)

Digestion

Digestion
- constipation (++)
- protège des ulcères d’estomac et de l’intestin (++)
- régule le système digestif (++)
- combat le diabète (++)
- spasmes intestinaux (++)
- protège le foie (+)

 

 

Aphrodisiaque

aprhodisiaque- normalise les fonctions sexuelles (+++) (usage traditionnel)
- aphrodisiaque (++)
- impuissance, éjaculation précoce (++)
- infertilité (++)
- stimule la libido (++)
- renouvelle les spermatozoïdes, évacue les spermatozoïdes de mauvaise qualité (++)
- règles douloureuses (+)
- ménopause (+)

Ashwagandha : Origines

L’Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) est originaire d’Inde et est très utilisé en médecine ayurvédique (médecine Indienne qui est l’une des plus anciennes médecines au monde). Son usage remonte à plus de 3000 ans, c’est donc une plante très ancienne qui a traversé les siècles pour ses nombreuses vertus. L’Ashwagandha a des propriétés médicinales proches de celles du Ginseng, elle est d’ailleurs appelée le Ginseng Indien. Il est dit en Inde que l’Ashwagandha donne la force et la vitalité du cheval. On peut considérer la médecine Ayurvédique comme pertinente et efficace, car c’est la première a avoir mis en avant les bienfaits du Curcuma, qui est aujourd’hui considéré comme une plante très efficace pour aider l’organisme à prévenir le cancer (de nombreuses études scientifiques). Ainsi l’Ashwagandha serait une plante ancestrale très puissante, ce qui lui a permis de traverser les siècles et d’être aujourd’hui connue partout dans le monde.

Ashwagandha : Composition

L’Ashwagandha (Withania Somnifera) est riche en fer, en glycowithanolides (antioxydants), tanins, glucose, nitrate de potassium, alcaloïdes, acides gras et de nombreuses autres substances… L’ashwagandha contient aussi des alcaloïdes stéroïdiens : somnine, somniférine, anferine… et withanolides. Ces alcaloïdes jouent un rôle majeur dans les principes actifs de la plante. La Withania Somnifera contient aussi des flavonoïdes, des lactones, des acétylstérylglucosides. En médecine ayurvédique (indienne) on emploie plus particulièrement les feuilles, mais aussi et surtout les racines de l’Ashwagandha, car ceux-ci contiennent le plus grand nombre de principes actifs à la plante.

Ashwagandha : Dosage, posologie

Il est conseillé de faire 1 mois de traitement / 1 semaine de pause / 1 autre mois de traitement. L’Ashwaganda est souvent commercialisée en capsules : prendre 3 à 4 gélules par jour (350mg x3 pour l’extrait en poudre et 250mg x3 pour l’extrait sec), le soir de préférence. Pour le cas des tisanes ou décoctions, prendre 1 à 2 g de racine séchée pour une tisane. Afin d’extraire tous les principes actifs, faire bouillir la plante pendant 15 minutes puis laisser infuser 10 minutes. Ne pas dépasser deux tasses par jour en décoction. L’Ashwagandha existe aussi en teinture ou encore en extrait fluide, mais c’est sous forme de gélules que la plante révèle sa plus grande efficacité.

Ashwagandha : Effets ultimes, bienfaits, vertus

L’effet principal de l’Ashwagandha est de redonner force et vigueur à toutes les personnes en manque de dynamisme et d’énergie, comme les convalescents. L’Ashwagandha stimule le système immunitaire et favorise le bon fonctionnement de l’organisme. A l’instar des plantes adaptogènes (qui s’adaptent aux besoins de l’organisme comme le Ginseng et la Rhodiola), l’Ashwagandha est bénéfique pour l’ensemble du corps et de l’esprit, son spectre d’action est très large. C’est pour cette même raison qu’elle préviendrait de nombreuses maladies, participerait à prévenir le cancer et qu’elle possède des vertus aphrodisiaques, en jouant un rôle de régulateur puissant. Ainsi, l’Ashwagandha est une plante qui combat efficacement toutes formes de stress et qui favorise grandement le sommeil et la qualité de celui-ci. L’Ashwagandha (Withania Somnifera) favorite le bon fonctionnement métabolique du corps et protège les différentes organes.

Ashwagandha : Effets secondaires, contre-indications

L’Ashwagandha est déconseillé en cas d’hyperthyroïdie, de grossesse et peut provoquer, à hautes doses, certains troubles intestinaux. A forte dose, l’Ashwagandha est hypnotique. Cela reste peu fréquent mais il faut toujours se méfier des plantes aussi puissantes que l’Ashwagandha et donc tester par petite dose au départ, puis augmenter progressivement. La prise d’Ashwagandha est préférable le soir, car à forte dose, la plante peut-être sédative. On notera que l’Ashwagandha reste une plante très connue, très utilisée et que son usage dans les doses recommandées est sécuritaire.

Ashwagandha : Avis des experts

L’Ashwagandha est une plante majeure dans la médecine Ayurvédique (médecine Indienne) et répond aux besoins de la vie moderne en combattant le stress, les maladies et en redonnant force et vigueur. Cette plante est plus adaptée aux hommes mais est aussi efficace pour les femmes. D’après les médecins indiens qui l’utilisent depuis des millénaires, l’Ashwagandha est aussi efficace pour les baisses de libido, favoriser les problèmes d’érection, combattre l’infertilité et améliorer les fonctions sexuelles.

Ashwagandha : Infos complémentaires

Par son action combinée anti-inflammatoire, préventive antitumeurs, antioxydante, et régularisante du système nerveux et du sommeil, l’Ashwagandha empêche l’apparition des différentes maladies du corps et de l’esprit. C’est une formidable protectrice, un bouclier efficace que l’on peut utiliser en prévention de nombreuses maladies et pour rétablir les fonctions normales du corps. Des études sont également en cours pour déterminer les effets de l’Ashwagandha sur la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Ashwagandha : Où en acheter de très bonne qualité

Voici un magasin où obtenir => Ashwagandha d’excellente qualité (exceptionnellement riche à 8% en Withanolides), pour retrouver une puissante énergie et combattre très efficacement tous les problèmes de stress, de dépression profonde et de sommeil.

Ashwagandha : Association avec d’autres plantes

L’Ashwagandha peut s’associer à beaucoup de plantes, au vu de ses très nombreuses et larges vertus. L’Ashwagandha est particulièrement efficace avec la Rhodiola (équilibre nerveux, concentration, endurance), très bonne association avec le Ginseng, le Tribulus, la Maca (libido, aphrodisiaque, équilibre nerveux, vitalité), et possède une excellente synergie avec la Griffonia simplicifolia (sommeil, dépression profonde, stress) et l’Harpagophytum (très puissant anti-inflammatoire naturel, tendinites, douleurs articulaires). L’Ashwagandha s’associe aussi bien avec le Ginkgo Biloba (circulation sanguine, concentration, maladie d’Alzheimer, maladie de Parkinson), la baie de Goji (anti-vieillissement, fatigue, sommeil), l’Eleuthérocoque (fatigue, convalescence, sport) la Pfaffia paniculata (équilibre général, santé), à l’Eucalyptus, au Thym (antiseptique, antiviral, antibactérien), la digestion et les insomnies (Camomille, Valériane, Reine des prés), le Cannabis et le Houblon (nervosité, crise de nerfs, manque de détachement, règles douloureuses), le Curcuma, la Réglisse et la Mélisse (digestion, ulcères, hyperacidité de l’estomac).

______________________
Copyright © 2012 MR GINSENG.COM – Tous droits réservés.