GUARANA (Paullinia cupana): Benefits, Uses and Virtues of Guarana? Medicinal properties? Dosage? Side-effects of Guarana? Origins, Composition, Expert opinions, Combination with other plants and more Information on Guarana.

Guarana

Guarana (Paullinia cupana) is a plant that originated in the Amazonian forest and was used by the Indians. Guarana has become very well known as a highly effective tonic plant, thanks in no small part to the fact that it contains 4-5 times more caffeine (guaranine) than coffee itself. Guarana, which could be described as an extra powerful coffee, is as well known for its powerful effect of increased vigilance and reduced fatigue as for its famous  appetite suppressant effect. It is thus a very effective stimulant that reinforces the potential of the body and its immune system.

Guarana: Medicinal properties

Energy – Anti-fatigue – Vigilance

force- considerable increase in vigilance (+++) (short term)
- strongly reduces the sensation of fatigue (+++) (short term) (synergy with Ginseng)
- combats drowsiness (+++) (notably while driving)
- stimulates the nervous system (+++)
- increases available resources (+++) (short term)
- increases strength (++) and endurance (+++) (short term) (synergy with Ginseng)
- tonic action, muscular efforts, sport (++) (synergy with Spirulina and Maca)
- aphrodisiac, stimulates the libido, strengthens erections (++) (synergy with Maca)
- reinforces the immune system and stimulates the body (++)

Concentration – Stress – Memory

mémoire

- improves intellectual performance (+++) (synergy with Ginseng)
- facilitates learning (++)
- increases concentration (++) (synergy with Rhodiola)
- improves reflexes (++)
- relieves migraines, headaches (++)
- reduces the effects of stress (+) (short term)
- increases blood circulation (+)

Fat burning – Weight loss – Digestion

stress
- natural appetite suppressant, reduces the desire to eat (+++)
- promotes weight loss (++) (synergy with Spirulina)
- activates the burning of fat (++)
- combats diarrhea, bloating, digestive problems (++) (synergy with Turmeric)
- facilitates disposal of waste through urine (++)

Undesired effects – Danger

danger
- can increase blood pressure in strong doses (+)
- can cause heart palpitations (+)
- can increase insomnia, anxiety, agitation (++) (especially when taken in the evening)
- not recommended for those with high blood pressure (++)
- can cause stomach irritation, heartburn (+) (strong dosage)
- can cause nausea and vomiting (+) (strong dosage)

Guarana: Origins

Guarana (Paullinia cupana) originated in the Amazon and was used by the Indians for its energising and appetite suppressant effects, as well as for treating diseases such as malaria and dysentry (this usage has since been forgotten, and was never proven). The plant was also used for its astringent properties. Guarana was also used for its astringent, tonic and antidiarrheal properties. The Indians continue to use the plant for its appetite suppressant effects, and go for long walks in the forest with only Guarana for nourishment, which stimulates them. Today, Guarana is a climbing plant that is found mainly in the Amazonian forest, and is cultivated in its natural environment in Brazil. Its usage has spread widely across the world, and it has come to be especially used for its stimulating and revitalizing effects, which are well suited to the needs of our modern society.

Guarana: Composition

Guarana contains guaranine, a molecule that is very closely related to caffeine but whose effects are 4-7 times stronger than caffeine. Guarana also contains tannins (which give the plant its astringent properties), vitamins A, E, B1, B3, PP, minerals such as calcium, magnesium, iron, potassium, phosphor, some trace elements such as selenium and strontium, as well as amino acids.

Guarana: Dosage

It is best to consume Guarana in the morning or at midday, due to its stimulant effects. However, Guarana may also be taken at night to avoid falling asleep on the road while driving – the plant brings a considerable increase in vigilance in the short term. 2-4 grams of Guarana should be taken per day. In Brazil, consumption varies from 4-8 grams/day; however, Brazilians do not consume other stimulants.

Guarana: Ultimate effects, benefits, virtues

Guarana’s main benefit is to keep the body awake and alert, and as such it is most useful to those who have a need to stay alert and awake during a given period of time. In general, the effects of Guarana last no more than several hours, and it passes through the body relatively quickly. Guarana is the ultimate medicinal plant for providing energy that lasts for 3-4 hours. Furthermore, it strongly promotes concentration and presence of mind. Guarana is thus a powerful neurostimulant, but this is not its only virtue. It is also a very effective natural fat burner; it activates the combustion of body fat, converting it into a readily available source of energy. Guarana also promotes the healthy functioning of the metabolism and the immune system, helping the body to be more resistant to various attacks such as bacteria and virus.

Guarana: Side-effects, contraindications

Guarana is not recommended for pregnant women or young children. Guarana should be consumed in moderation, as it has numerous side-effects. However, within the recommended dosage, the undesired effects of Guarana are rarer. The main side-effects are increased blood pressure, heart palpitations and heartburn. However, within the recommended dosage, the body flushes it out quite easily and the effects cease in a matter of hours. Unlike Ginseng or Rhodiola which reduce fatigue, stimulate the memory and fortify the body in the medium/long term, Guarana has a efficient short term effect.

Guarana: Opinions of experts

Guarana is a plant that is used by many people, particularly in Brazil, but as is the case with coffee, which is used by millions of people throughout the world, this is not to say that it is necessarily good for general health. Should Guarana be taken occasionally? Yes. Daily? No. Nevertheless, it should be noted that Guarana is also very effective in both preventing and slowing down the progression of different diseases, by the process of reinforcing and stimulating the body and forcing it to react. The plant does not have any real aphrodisiac effects, but since it works to provide a rapid increase in physical and mental strength, it helps to create a stimulating effect on the libido and sexual desire, similarly to plants such as Maca or Tribulus, even if the effect is more short term.

Guarana: More Information

Guarana was used by the Indians during great famines in order to reduce the sensation of hunger and to restore the energy and vitality needed in such times.Today, the benefits of Guarana in terms of appetite suppression and fat burning are used to promote weight loss and crash dieting (combined with Spirulina in order to prevent deficiencies).

Guarana: Combination with other plants

Guarana is often combined with Ginseng and Royal Jelly (fatigue, concentration, energy), but can also be combined with Rhodiola and Ashwagandha (physical and mental well-being, intellectual concentration), Maca and Tribulus (libido, aphrodisiac, energy), Turmeric (digestive problems, protection of the liver), Spirulina (energy, muscular mass, helps with weight loss, prevents deficiencies during dieting or exercise). However, in order to better understand the effects of each plant, it is preferable to test them separately.

______________________
Copyright © 2012 MR GINSENG.COM – All rights reserved.

GUARANA (Paullinia cupana) : Bienfaits et Vertus du Guarana ? Propriétés médicinales ? Posologie du Guarana ? Effets secondaires ? Origine, Composition, Avis des experts, Association avec d’autres plantes et Informations complémentaires sur le Guarana.

Guarana

Le Guarana (Paullinia cupana) est une plante issue de la forêt Amazonienne et utilisée par les Indiens. Si le Guarana est devenue une plante tonique aussi connue et efficace, c’est pour la bonne raison qu’il contient de 4 à 7 fois plus en caféine (Guaranine plus exactement) que le célèbre café lui même. Ainsi le Guarana est un café hyper-puissant, aussi bien connu pour ses effets puissants sur l’augmentation de la vigilance et la baisse de la fatigue, que pour son célèbre effet coupe-faim recherché pour faire un régime. C’est donc un neurostimulant très efficace en plus de renforcer le potentiel de l’organisme, ainsi que le système immunitaire.

Guarana : Propriétés médicinales

Energie – Anti-fatigue – Vigilance

force- augmente considérablement la vigilance (+++) (court terme)
- diminue fortement la sensation de fatigue (+++) (court terme) (association Ginseng)
- combat la somnolence (+++) (notamment en voiture)
- stimule le système nerveux (+++)
- augmente les ressources disponibles (+++) (court terme)
- augmente la force (++) et l’endurance (+++) (court terme) (association TribulusGinseng)
- action tonique, efforts musculaires, sportifs (++) (association Spiruline et Maca)
- aphrodisiaque, stimule la libido, favorise les érections (++) (association Maca)
- manque de motivation, perte du goût d’avancer (++)
- anti-grippal, analgésique (++)
- renforce le système immunitaire et stimule l’organisme (++)

Concentration – Stress – Mémoire

mémoire

- dynamise les performances intellectuelles (+++) (association Ginseng)
- facilite la mémoire, l’apprentissage (++)
- augmente la concentration (++) (association Rhodiola)
- améliore les réflexes (++)
- soulage les migraines, les maux de têtes (++)
- diminue les effets du stress (+) (court terme)
- augmente circulation sanguine (+)

 

Brûleur de graisses – Perde de poids – Digestion

stress

- coupe-faim naturel, diminue l’envie de manger (+++)
- favorise la perdre du poids (++) (association Spiruline)
- brûleur de graisses (++)
- active la combustion des graisses (++)
- lutter contre la diarrhée, les ballonnements, les troubles digestifs (++) (association Curcuma)
- favorise l’élimination par les urines (++)
 
 
 

Effets Indésirables – Dangers

danger

- peut augmenter la tension artérielle à forte dose (++)
- peut causer des palpitations cardiaques (+)
- peut augmenter l’insomnie, la nervosité, l’agitation (++) (surtout si prise le soir)
- déconseiller aux personnes hypertensives, hypertendues (+)
- peut irriter l’estomac, brûlures d’estomac (+) (forte dose)
- peut occasionner des nausées, des vomissements (+) (forte dose)
 
 

Guarana : Origines

Le Guarana (Paullinia cupana) est originaire d’Amazonie et fut utilisé par les Indiens pour ses vertus dynamisantes, coupe-faim, et pour soigner certaines maladies comme la Malaria et la Dysentri (mais cet usage a été oublié depuis, et n’a jamais été avéré). Le Guarana fut également utilisé pour ses propriétés astringentes, toniques et antidiarrhéique. Les Indiens l’utilisent encore aujourd’hui pour son action coupe-faim et font de longues marches en forêt uniquement avec le Guarana en guise de nourriture, qui les stimule. Aujourd’hui, le Guarana est une liane grimpante que l’on trouve toujours essentiellement dans la forêt Amazonienne, et est cultivé dans son environnement naturel au Brésil. Son usage est devenu très répandu à travers le monde, particulièrement pour ses effets stimulants et dynamisants qui correspondent bien aux besoins de notre société actuelle.

Guarana : Composition

Le Guarana contient de la Guaranine, qui est une molécule très proche de la caféine, mais qui a des effets de 4 à 7 fois plus fort que la caféine. Le Guarana contient aussi des tanins (ce qui confère à la plante ses vertus astringentes), des vitamines A, E, B1, B3, PP, des minéraux comme le calcium, le magnésium, le fer, du potassium, du phosphore, quelques oligo-éléments comme le sélénium et le strontium, ainsi que des acides aminés.

Guarana : Dosage, posologie

Il vaut mieux consommer le Guarana le matin ou le midi en raison de ces effets stimulants, cependant il est pertinent de prendre du Guarana pour éviter de s’endormir sur la route, la nuit en voiture, car cette plante augmente considérablement la vigilance sur le court terme. Il est conseillé de prendre de 2 à 4g par jour, mais au Brésil sa consommation varie de 4 à 8g / jour, cependant ils ne consomment pas d’autres excitants supplémentaires.

Guarana : Effets ultimes, bienfaits, vertus

Le Guarana a comme principal effet de garder l’organisme éveillé et alerte, c’est donc une plante médicinale utile pour toutes les personnes qui souhaitent rester disponibles pendant un long moment. En général les effets ne durent que quelques heures, l’organisme l’évacue assez rapidement. Le Guarana est la plante médicinale ultime pour avoir de l’énergie disponible pendant les 3/4 heures à venir. De plus elle favorise fortement concentration et la présence d’esprit. Le Guarana est donc un formidable neurostimulant, mais ce n’est pas son unique vertus, en effet le Guarana est aussi un brûleur de graisses naturel très efficace, car il active la combustion des corps gras pour les transformer en énergie rapidement disponible. Il favorise également le bon fonctionnement du métabolisme et du système immunitaire ce qui permet à l’organisme d’être plus résistant face aux diverses agressions comme les bactéries ou les virus.

Guarana : Effets secondaires, contre-indications

Le Guarana est déconseillé aux femmes enceintes et aux jeunes enfants. Le Guarana est une plante à consommer avec modération, car elle peut avoir certains effets secondaires. Ces effets secondaires restent rares aux doses recommandées et sont principalement : une augmentation de la tension artérielle, des éventuelles palpitations cardiaques et plus rarement des brûlures d’estomac. Cependant, aux doses recommandées, l’organisme le supprime assez facilement et les effets indésirables s’estompent en quelques heures. A noter que contrairement au Ginseng ou à la Rhodiola qui diminuent la fatigue, stimulent la mémoire et fortifient l’organisme sur le moyen/long terme, le Guarana a un effet plus rapide et efficace sur le court terme.

Guarana : Avis des experts

Le Guarana est une plante utilisée par de nombreuses personnes, en particulier au Brésil, mais comme le café qui est utilisé par des millions de personnes dans le monde, ce n’est pas pour autant que ces plantes sont nécessairement positives sur la santé en général. Donc la prendre occasionnellement oui, quotidiennement non. Cependant on notera que les effets du Guarana sont aussi très efficaces pour prévenir et ralentir la progression des différentes maladies, en renforçant et stimulant puissamment l’organisme et en l’obligeant à réagir. La plante n’a pas de réels effets aphrodisiaques, mais étant donné qu’elle procure une nouvelle force physique et mentale rapidement, alors elle permet de créer un effet stimulant sur la libido et le désir sexuel, assez similaire à des plantes comme la Maca ou le Tribulus, même si l’effet est de plus courte durée.

Guarana : Infos complémentaires

Le Guarana était utilisé par les Indiens lors de grandes famines, afin de diminuer la sensation de la faim, de redonner de l’énergie et de la vitalité nécessaire dans ces moments là. Aujourd’hui les vertus coupe-faim et brûleur de graisses du Guarana sont utilisées pour favoriser la perte de poids et les régimes rapides (en association avec la Spiruline pour éviter les carences).

Guarana : Association avec d’autres plantes

Le Guarana s’associe souvent avec le Ginseng et la Gelée royale (fatigue, concentration, énergie), mais pourrait s’associer aussi à la Rhodiola et l’Ashwagandha (forme physique et mentale, concentration intellectuelle), la Maca et le Tribulus (libido, aphrodisiaque, énergie, endurance), la Rhodiola (concentration, équilibre nerveux, mémoire, endurance) le Curcuma (problèmes digestifs, protection du foie), Spiruline (énergie, masse musculaire, aide la perte de poids, éviter carences lors d’un régime ou de la pratique d’un sport). Cependant pour mieux comprendre les effets de chaque plante, il est préférable de les tester séparément.

______________________
Copyright © 2012 MR GINSENG.COM – Tous droits réservés.