PROPOLIS: Benefits, Uses and Virtues of Propolis? Medicinal properties? Dosage? Side-effects? Origins, Composition, Expert opinions, Combination with medicinal plants and other bee products, and more information on Propolis.

Propolis

Propolis is one of the most powerful natural shields there is. It comes from bees, which use it for sealing cracks, sanitizing, reinforcing and protecting the hive. An excellent natural antibiotic, it can be of great help in preventing infections, and is unparalleled in its protection of the immune system. It is also one of the first remedies against flu, tonsillitis and sore throat (it is used by singers suffering from loss of voice). For men, Propolis has been the subject of numerous scientific studies in relation to its immunostimulant properties, and some herbalists even claim that it has anti-cancerous properties, but is this really the case?

Propolis: Medicinal Properties

Natural antibiotic - Anti-disease – Anti-cancer

immunité- powerful natural antibiotic, very broad range of action (+++)
- powerful antiseptic, anti-infective, antifungal (fights fungi and germs) (+++)
- flu, swine flu (H1N1) (+++) (combines excellently with Royal Jelly).
- Influenza (types A and B) (+++)
- fever, febrility, chills (+++)
- sore throat, tonsillitis, hoarseness (+++) (synergy with Garlic)
- respiratory infections: bronchitis, laryngitis, pharyngitis, rhinopharyngitis, cold, rhinitis (+++) (traditional usage)
- protects from pollution and tobacco smoke (+++) (synergy with Turmeric)
- chronic cough (+++)
- ENT infections, recurring ear infections (++)
- anesthetic effect, pain relief (++) (synergy with Cannabis)
- anti-inflammatory action (++) (internal and external usage)
- prophylactic with anti-tumor and anti-cancer effects, antioxidant (++) (synergy with Turmeric and Garlic)
- antioxidant, anti-aging (+++) (synergy with Goji Berry and Royal Jelly)
- ringworm (+++)
- tracheitis (+++)
- tuberculosis (+++) (synergy with Rhodiola and Echinacea)
- genital herpes and labial herpes (+++)
- antiviral (++)
- anti-allergy (++)

Digestion – Intestines

digestion- fights intestinal parasites: candida albicans and many other bacteria and germs… (+++) (synegry with Garlic)
- fights stomach parasites: helicobacter pylori and many other bacteria and germs… (+++) (synegry with Garlic)
- effectively cleans the intestine and drives out parasites (+++) (synergy with Turmeric)
- drugs and food poisoning (synergy with Turmeric and Ginseng)
- some digestive problems (++)
- Lyme disease (+++)

 

Protection of Skin – Hair – Nails

peau- acts effectively against skin aging (+++) (combines very well with Aloe vera and Acai/Goji Berry)
- wounds, abrasions, injuries (+++) (traditionally used by the Roman army)
- promotes wound healing, cell reparation (+++) (internal and external usage) (combines very well with Aloe vera)
- accelerates the healing of burns (++) (combines excellently with Aloe vera)
- frostbite, chapped skin (+++)
- combats mycosis and athlete’s foot (+++) (internal and external usage)
- reinforces the skin, hair and nails (++)
- treats warts (++)
- acne (++) (synergy with Aloe vera)
- varnishing, coloring the skin, wood… (+++) (Propolis is used for varnishing and protecting musical instruments)

Teeth – Mouth – Throat

bouche
- loss of voice, hoarseness (+++)
- sore throat, tonsillitis (+++) (synergy with Garlic)
- gingivitis (+++)
- prevention of cavities, reinforces the teeth (+++)
- mouth ulcers, healthy mouth (+++)
- bad breath (++) (synergy with Peppermint)
- genital and labial herpes (+++)

 

Propolis: Origins

Propolis is a beehive product, produced by bees through their secretions and through various natural products found in plants and trees. In the hive, Propolis is used to seal cracks and repair alveoli, but above all to sanitize and disinfect. It is also employed for the mummification of dead animals (mice, rats..) so as to prevent their decomposition in the hive.

Historically, Propolis was used by several ancient civilizations: the Egyptians, Greeks and Romans used it frequently, and it is notable that in Latin, “Propolis” can be broken down into two words: “Pro” = before, in front – and “Polis” – town, city; this sums up the objective of Propolis which is to defend an environment or a given place. The Egyptians successfully borrowed from the bees’ mummification techniques in dealing with their dead. Propolis was also used by Egyptian doctors for its powerful anti-bacterial properties, while it was used by Roman doctors during war to promote the healing of injuries, reduce pain and clean wounds. In addition, Propolis was often used to treat arrow and knife wounds, speed healing and reduce pain, while preventing wounds from becoming septic. More recently, Propolis has allowed Russian doctors to carry out surgical operations with local anesthetics. It should also be noted that the famous luthier Stradivarius used Propolis to varnish his violins and restore a certain sheen to the wood.

Propolis: Composition

Propolis is composed of 40-50% resin, 25-30% wax and other fatty acids, 5-15% essential oil, 5% Pollen, and finally a small amount of trace minerals (silica, zinc, iron…) However, it should be noted that the composition of Propolis is extremely variable, as it depends largely on the trees, flowers and plants frequented by the bees that produce it. As with the creation of Honey, several natural elements are used, but the trees most often used by bees to create Propolis are Willow, Birch and Poplar.

Propolis: Dosage

Propolis can be taken in different ways: in the form of pure alcoholic extract (from 5-50% of pure Propolis extract), often the same size as a vial of essential oil. Propolis also exists in the form of capsules, lozenges, syrups and spray for the throat (make sure to check the true Propolis content of these products!). Traces of Propolis can also be found in numerous cosmetic and hygiene products (creams, soaps, toothpastes, shampoos…). Depending on the form in which Propolis is taken, its dosage varies enormously. For pure alcoholic extract (50%), take 5 drops, either pure or diluted in a herbal infusion with other medicinal plants. Propolis can also be mixed with honey or Royal Jelly in an infusion to be taken 2-3 times per day. With high quality Propolis, large quantities are not necessary for it to be effective; a few drops per day are enough to enjoy all its benefits.

Propolis: Ultimate effects, benefits, virtues

Propolis is one of the most powerful natural shields to be found in nature: anti-infective, antibiotic, antiviral, fungicidal, powerful antioxidant, help to prevent cancer. Its effects are more powerful in combination with other medicinal plants such as Echinacea and Garlic, for stimulating the immune system and protecting the body from infection. A combination with Royal Jelly is also especially recommended for preventing winter illnesses such as flu, tonsillitis, otitis, colds and various allergies. It is also the number 1 natural response against sore throat and can be used for cleaning the mouth, fighting mouth infections, combating cavities and mouth ulcers and restoring clarity of voice (many singers use it for this effect, mixed with Honey). Used externally, Propolis is a remarkable healer (it was used by the Romans during war for this effect); it effectively repairs skin, cleans wounds, strengthens tissues and relieves inflammatory episodes (internal and external usage).

Propolis: Side-effects, contraindications

Propolis (like Royal Jelly) should not be consumed by those allergic to beehive products. If you are in doubt, apply one drop of Propolis to your forearm, and wait several hours to see if it triggers any reaction (itching, spots…). If so, do not consume Propolis. Apart from this, within the recommended dosage, Propolis does not have any notable side-effects and is very safe (paradoxically, Propolis is a good natural means of combating allergies). However, since Propolis stimulates the immune system, it is not recommended to take it for more than 3 consecutive weeks, and breaks of at least one week every 3 weeks are advised. There is no danger of addiction to Propolis.

Propolis: Opinions of experts

Propolis has survived through the centuries for one obvious reason: it is truy effective for preventing infections, healing the skin, stimulating the immune system and combating many viruses, and it has a very broad range of action on bacteria and other germs and fungi. It was used by numerous ancient civilizations (Egyptians, Romans, Greeks…), and it is interesting to note that while each of these civilizations used it in very different ways according to their culture and needs, one theme remained common to all: the natural anti-infective and disinfectant action of Propolis. Today, due to bacterial mutations and increased antibiotic resistance, there is renewed interest in Propolis, whose natural antibiotic action remains very effective, as is the case with another famous medicinal plant: Echinacea. As regards its anti-cancer properties, these have been proved by numerous scientific studies that have demonstrated antioxidant, antimutagenic and anti-tumor effects, in prevention; however, to achieve these, it would be necessary to consume Propolis regularly (even daily), which is not necessarily recommended. No studies have yet been advanced to determine the types of cancer against which the preventative effects of Propolis are strongest, but it seems that Propolis is most effective for preventing prostate, stomach and intestinal cancer. It should also be noted that antioxidant plants such as Goji berry, Turmeric, Ginger and Garlic are better adapted to a strategy for the prevention of cancer in the medium/long term.

Propolis: More information

To be effective, Propolis must be collected and handled naturally by bees, in an unpolluted environment. Propolis can easily be contaminated by pollutants and heavy metals, especially if the hive is located in close proximity to industrial areas or large cities. Thus, ideally Propolis will be of 100% natural origin and will be harvested by beekeepers far from human activity. Propolis is also very effective as a varnish, and is used by some luthiers to protect the wood of musical instruments such as the violin, while maintaining and strengthening the original color.

Propolis: Combination with other plants

Propolis combines naturally with another very powerful bee product: Royal Jelly (fatigue, asthenia, flu, convalescence, growth, powerful antioxidant, lack of energy…), Honey (sore throat, loss of voice, inflammation, healing), but also with Echinacea (stimulation of the immune system, prevention of winter illnesses, protection against infections), Goji Berry (general fatigue, asthenia, powerful antioxidant, stimulation of the immune system), Ginger and Turmeric (help to prevent cancer, protection of the lungs, intestine, digestive system and skin), Aloe vera (protects the skin, promotes healing, reinforces the immune system), Cannabis (pain, stress, anxiety, emotional detox, weakness of the immune system), Garlic (high blood pressure, prevention of disease, helps to prevent cancer), Rhodiola (fatigue, stress, lack of energy, depression, tuberculosis, flu), Ginseng (fatigue, overwork, aphrodisiac).

______________________

Copyright © 2012 MR GINSENG.COM – All rights reserved.

PROPOLIS : Bienfaits et Vertus de la Propolis ? Propriétés médicinales ? Posologie de la Propolis ? Effets secondaires ? Où Acheter de la Propolis BIO ? Origine, Composition, Avis des experts, Association avec d’autres plantes ou produits de la ruche et Informations complémentaires sur la Propolis.

Propolis

La « Propolis » est l’un des boucliers naturels des plus puissants qui soit. Dans la nature, la Propolis provient des abeilles (comme l’incroyable Gelée Royale), qui l’utilisent pour colmater les fissures, assainir, renforcer et protéger la ruche. Excellent antibiotique naturel, elle est d’une grande aide pour prévenir les infections et un protecteur de l’immunité hors paire. C’est d’ailleurs l’un des premiers remèdes contre la grippe, les angines et maux de gorge (les chanteurs s’en servent lorsqu’ils ont des extinctions de voix). Chez l’homme, elle a fait l’objet de nombreuses études scientifiques pour ses propriétés immuno-stimulantes et certains phytothérapeutes lui donnent même des vertus anti-cancers, mais qu’en est-il vraiment ?

Propolis : Propriétés médicinales

Antibiotique naturel – Anti-maladies – Anti-cancers 

immunité– puissant antibiotique naturel, très large spectre d’action (+++)
– puissant antispetique, anti-infectieux, anti-fongiques (anti-champignons et germes) (+++)
– grippe, grippe H1N1 (+++) (excellente association de la Propolis avec la Gelée Royale).
– Influenza (Grippe A et B) (+++)
– fièvre, état fébrile, refroidissement (+++)
– maux de gorge, angine, enrouement (+++) (association Ail)
– infections respiratoires : bronchite, laryngite, pharyngite, rhinopharyngite, rhume, rhinite (+++) (usage traditionnel)
– protège de la pollution et de la fumée du tabac (+++) (association Curcuma)
– toux chronique (+++)
– infections ORL, otites à répétition (++)
– pouvoir anesthésiant, anti-douleur (++) (association Cannabis)
– action anti-inflammatoire (++) (usage interne et externe)
– participe à prévenir les tumeurs et les cancers, antioxydant (++) (association Curcuma et Ail)
– antioxydant, antivieillissement (+++) (association Goji et Gelée Royale)
– teigne (+++)
– trachéite (+++)
– tuberculose (+++) (association Rhodiola et Echinacea)
– herpès génitale et herpès labial (+++)
– anti-viral (++)
– anti-allergies (++)

Digestion – Intestins

digestion– anti-parasites intestinaux : candida albicans et bien d’autres bactéries et germes… (+++) (association Ail)
– anti-parasites de l’estomac : helicobacter pylori et bien d’autres bactéries et germes… (+++) (association Ail)
– nettoie efficacement l’intestin, chasse les parasites (+++) (association Curcuma)
– intoxication alimentaire et médicamenteuse (+++) (association Curcuma et Ginseng)
– certains problèmes digestifs (++)
– maladie de Lyme (+++)

 

Protection Peau – Cheveux – Ongles

peau– action efficace contre le vieillissement de la peau (+++) (très bonne association avec l’Aloe vera et les baies d’Açai / Goji)
– plaies, écorchures, blessures (+++) (usage traditionnel des armées Romaines)
– favorise la cicatrisation, réparer les cellules (+++) (usage interne et externe) (très bonne association avec l’Aloe vera)
– accélérer la cicatrisation des brûlures (++) (excellente association avec l’Aloe vera)
– engelures, crevasses (+++)
– combat les mycose et le pied d’athlète (+++) (usage internet et externe)
– renforce la peau, les cheveux et les ongles (++)
– traiter les verrues (++)
– acné (++) (association Aloe vera)
– vernir, colorer la peau, le bois… (+++) (la Propolis est utilisée pour vernir et protéger les instruments de musiques)

Dents – Bouche – Gorge

bouche
– extinction de voix, enrouement (+++)
– mal de gorge, angine (+++) (association Ail)
– gingivite (+++)
– prévention des caries, renforcer les dents (+++)
– aphtes, bouche saine (+++)
– mauvaise haleine (++) (association Menthe poivrée)
– herpès génitale et labiale (+++)

———————

COPYRIGHT © MR-GINSENG.COM

Propolis : Origines

La Propolis est un produit de la ruche, fabriqué par les abeilles grâce à leurs sécrétions et à divers produits naturels trouvés dans les plantes et arbres. Dans la ruche, la Propolis a pour but de colmater les fissures, réparer les alvéoles, mais surtout d’assainir et désinfecter l’ensemble de celle-ci. La Propolis permet également la momification des gros animaux morts (souris, rats..) pour éviter leur décomposition dans la ruche.

Dans l’histoire, la Propolis fut utilisée par plusieurs civilisations antiques : les Égyptiens, les Grecs et les Romains en étaient férus, on remarquera d’ailleurs qu’en latin, la « Propolis » se décompose en deux mots : « Pro » = devant, en avant – et « Polis » = la ville, la cité ; ce qui caractérise bien l’objectif de la Propolis de défendre un environnement ou un lieu donné. Les Égyptiens en ont repris les techniques de momifications des abeilles, pour leurs morts avec succès. Les médecins Égyptiens utilisaient également la Propolis pour son action anti-bactérienne très puissante, tandis que les médecins Romains l’utilisaient pendant les guerres pour favoriser la guérison des blessures, diminuer les douleurs et nettoyer les plaies. Elle fut d’ailleurs très utilisée lors de blessures de flèches ou au couteau pour accélérer la cicatrisation, diminuer la douleur, tout en évitant que la plaie ne s’envenime. D’une utilisation plus récente, la Propolis permis aux médecins Russes de pratiquer des opérations chirurgicales en anesthésiants localement les patients grâce à la Propolis. On notera également que le célèbre luthier Stradivarius utilisait la Propolis pour vernir ses violons et redonner un certain éclat au bois.

Propolis : Composition

La Propolis est composée de 40 à 50 % de résine, de 25 à 30% de cire et autres acides gras, de 5 à 15% d’huile essentielle, de 5% de Pollen, et enfin quelques traces de minéraux (silice, zinc, fer…). On notera cependant que la composition de la Propolis est très variable, car elle dépend en grande partie des arbres, fleurs et plantes visitées par les abeilles. Comme pour la création du Miel, plusieurs éléments naturels sont utilisés mais les arbres les plus souvent utilisés par les abeilles pour créer de la Propolis sont le Saule, le Bouleau et le Peuplier.

Propolis : Dosage, posologie

La Propolis peut se prendre de différentes manières : sous forme d’extrait pur alcoolisé (allant de 5 à 50% d’extrait pur de Propolis), souvent de la taille d’un flacon d’huile essentielle. La Propolis existe aussi sous forme de gélules, bonbons, sirops et spray pour la gorge (attention à la proportion réelle de Propolis que ces produits contiennent !). On retrouve également des traces de Propolis dans de nombreux produits cosmétiques et d’hygiènes (crèmes, savons, dentifrices, soins, shampoings…). Selon la forme du produit contenant de la Propolis, sa posologie diverge énormément. Pour un extrait pur alcoolisé à 50%, 5 gouttes soit pures, soit diluées dans une tisane avec d’autres plantes médicinales. La Propolis peut également être mélangée avec du miel dans une tisane ou encore avec de la Gelée Royale, de 2 à 3 fois par jour. Lorsque la Propolis est de bonne qualité, il n’est pas nécessaire de la prendre de grandes quantités pour qu’elle soit efficace, seulement quelques gouttes par jour suffissent pour avoir toutes ses propriétés.

Propolis : Effets ultimes, bienfaits, vertus

La Propolis est l’un des bouclier naturels les plus puissants que l’on puisse trouver dans la nature : anti-infectieux, antibiotique, antiviral, fongicides, antioxydant puissant, aider à prévenir les cancers. Son action est des plus efficace en association avec d’autres plantes médicinales comme l’Echinacea ou l’Ail pour stimuler le système immunitaire et protéger l’organisme des infections. Elle est également particulièrement recommandée avec la Gelée Royale pour prévenir les maladies hivernales comme la grippe, l’angine, l’otite, le rhume et diverses allergies. C’est aussi la réponse naturelle n°1 en cas de maux de gorge, nettoyer la bouche et toutes infections buccales, mais aussi combattre les caries et aphtes, tout en redonnant une voix claire en cas d’extinction (beaucoup de chanteurs l’utilisent à cet effet, mélangée avec du Miel). En usage externe, la Propolis est un remarquable cicatrisant (utilisée par les Romains pendant les guerres à cet effet), elle répare efficacement la peau, nettoie les plaies, resserre les tissus et calme les épisodes inflammatoires (usage interne et externe).

Propolis : Effets secondaires, contre-indications

La Propolis (tout comme la Gelée Royale) ne doit pas être consommée par les personnes allergiques aux produits de la ruche. Si vous avez un doute, appliquez une seule goutte de Propolis sur votre avant bras, et attendez plusieurs heures de voir si une éventuelle réaction se déclenche (démangeaisons, boutons…). Si oui, n’en consommez pas. Mis à part cela, aux doses recommandées, la Propolis n’a pas d’effet secondaires notables et est très sécuritaire (la Propolis est paradoxalement un bon moyen naturel de lutter contre les anti-allergies). Cependant, étant donné que la Propolis stimule le système immunitaire, il est recommandé de ne pas en prendre plus de 3 semaines de suite, et de faire des pauses au minimum d’une semaine toutes les 3 semaines. Il n’y a pas d’accoutumance à la Propolis.

Propolis : Avis des experts

La Propolis a traversé les siècles pour une raison évidente : elle est réellement efficace pour prévenir les infections, cicatriser la peau, stimuler le système immunitaire, combattre une bonne partie des virus et à une action très large spectre sur les bactéries et autres germes et champignons. De nombreuses civilisations antiques l’ont utilisé (Egyptiens, Romains, Grecs…), cependant il est intéressant de noter que parmi ces civilisations, toutes en ont fait des usages très différents selon leur culture et leurs besoins, mais toujours en gardant une action commune à la Propolis : son action anti-infectieux et désinfectante naturelle. Aujourd’hui l’intérêt de la Propolis renaît face aux mutations des différentes bactéries aux antibiotiques chimiques, car son action anti-biotique naturel reste très efficace, comme c’est le cas pour une autre célèbre plante médicinale : l’Echinacea. Concernant ses vertus anti-cancers, elles sont avérées par plusieurs études scientifiques démontrant une action préventive antioxydante, antimutagène et antitumorale, même si pour cela il faudrait en consommer régulièrement (voire quotidiennement), ce qui n’est pas forcément recommandable. Cependant les études n’ont pas été aussi poussé pour déterminer sur quels cancers la Propolis agissait le plus en prévention, même s’il semble que la Propolis soit le plus efficace pour aider à prévenir les cancer de la prostate, de l’estomac et des intestins. On notera également que des plantes antioxydantes comme le Goji, mais aussi le Curcuma, le Gingembre ou encore l’Ail sont plus adaptées à une stratégie de prévention des cancers sur le moyen/long terme.

Propolis : Infos complémentaires

Pour être efficace la Propolis doit être recueillie et traitée naturellement par les abeilles, dans un environnement non pollué. La Propolis peut facilement être contaminée par des polluants et métaux lourds, en particulier si la ruche se trouve à proximité de zones industrielles ou de grandes villes. Mieux vaut donc une Propolis d’origine 100% naturelle et récoltée par les apiculteurs loin de l’activité humaine. La Propolis est aussi un très bon vernis et est utilisée par certains Luthiers pour permettre aux instruments de musique comme le violon, de protéger le bois, tout en gardant et ravivant la couleur d’origine.

Propolis : Association avec d’autres plantes

La Propolis s’associe naturellement avec un autre produit de la ruche très puissant : la Gelée Royale (fatigue, asthénie, grippe, convalescence, croissance, antioxydant puissant, manque d’énergie…), le Miel (maux de gorge, extinction de voix, inflammations, cicatrisation), mais aussi avec l’Echinacea (stimuler le système immunitaire, prévention des maladies hivernales, protection contre les infections), le Goji (fatigue générale, asthénie, antioxydant puissant, stimulation du système immunitaire), le Gingembre et le Curcuma (participe à prévenir le cancer, protection des poumons, de l’intestins, de tout l’appareil digestif et de la peau), l’Aloe vera (protection de la peau, favorise la cicatrisation, renforce le système immunitaire), le Cannabis (douleurs, stress, anxiété, manque détachement, faiblesse immunitaire), l’Ail (hypertension artérielle, prévention des maladies, participe à la prévention des cancers), la Rhodiola (fatigue, stress, manque d’énergie, dépression, tuberculose, grippe), le Ginseng (fatigue, surmenage, aphrodisiaque).

———————
COPYRIGHT © MR-GINSENG.COM – Tous Droits Réservés.